Our solar system is made up of a star – the Sun, 8 planets, 146 moons, and many comets, asteroids and space rocks, ice, and several dwarf planets, such as Pluto.

The eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

Mercury is the closest planet to the Sun. Neptune is the farthest.

Planets, asteroids, and comets orbit our Sun. They travel around our Sun in a flattened circle called an ellipse. It takes the Earth 1 year to go around the Sun. Mercury goes around the Sun in only 88 days. It takes Pluto, the most famous dwarf planet, 248 years to make 1 trip around the Sun.

Moons orbit planets. Right now, Jupiter has the most named moons – 50. Mercury and Venus don’t have any moons. Earth has one. It is the brightest object in our night sky. The Sun is the brightest object in our daytime sky. It lights up the moon, planets, comets and asteroids, too.

Source: www.nasa.gov [Please note: This website contains graphics, audio, and video. Do not open if you have limited data access.]